Save science education!

While researching some interesting bugs for Expanding Your Horizons, I came across this great educational project engaging young scientists and teaching them about vernal pools.

It’s an inspiration to see environmental outreach and science education working together to encourage a new generation of citizen and research scientists.

So when I heard that the NSF GK-12 program (National Science Foundation Graduate Fellows for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) in K-12 Education) has been cancelled due to cuts in the 2012 budget, I couldn’t be more disappointed.  An article published in Science describes reasoning for and reaction to this decision.  It’s a large program, and an impactful one at that.  Not only is it beneficial for K-12 classrooms, it is valuable experience for graduate students like myself.  Suffice it to say that many, many people are upset.

If you want to add to the discussion and dissent, I encourage you to write to save GK-12 and support opportunities for science education.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Erin on April 22, 2011 at 11:25

    Hi Elaine,

    I was really surprised when I got the news of the GK-12 program. I was a part of it a few years ago and it completely changed my outlook on education, science, and the integration of the two. The program was enormously successful, at least at Ohio State, and we were only in the first year of the grant. I can only imagine how well they’re doing, a few years later. One of the other students in the program went on to work for the National Science Foundation, which only happened because of her involvement with the program. I really hope they find it in them to reverse the decision. So many people are directly and positively impacted, and I think it’s a shame to let an opportunity like this die.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

